Have I turned into the stereotypical angry lesbian?

Got a skype message from a friend that I haven’t spoken to in ages after she found and read my blog.

CC: “What! You sound so serious and angry on your blog!”

ME: “Grrr. What are you talking about!”

ME: “I am not angry when I blog. Maybe irritated at most!!”

CC: “You sound like that angry lesbian in some of your posts lol”.

Beware Angry Lesbian

Not that angry after all.

Have I really turned into a stereotypical angry lesbian after I passed my *hm* 30’s (omg!)? Nah I am not angry and can’t recall that I have been angry when I wrote anything on this blog. Okay, there were one or two, that started out angry – like my post about IKEA, but else I really don’t feel that I have turned into that angry lesbian who rant about everything heteronormative that does not leave room for LGBT issues and liberties.

But my  post about IKEA were more in a disappointed state, than angry.

Yes, really.

Am I really angry?

No. I am not angry. I can be very ironic. I can be fiercely stubborn on my convictions and I am not afraid to fight for what I believe in – and that is a Singapore who is able to embrace sexual diversity, as well as a country who does not suppress a democratic voice and a free press. That does not make me the angry lesbian, just someone who need to (maybe loudly) say that something is so horribly wrong in Singapore, that it is going to hurt the country and its citizens in the future.

But when an police officer tell a LGBT marathon organizer that “‘Your kind’ can run a marathon in Hong Lim Park”, a politician – and probably the next PM of Singapore, tell a MNC that it is ‘unfortunate’ that they have an LGBT diversity programme, and according to rumors, MOM (It’s the Ministry Of Manpower) openly advice that it is okay to terminate employment of an employee based on their sexuality then something is just wrong – THAT makes me angry.

We got a media where it is illegal to mention homosexuality in a positive light, and where they can be fined massively for just mentioning that some A-list personality – or anyone else – is gay. At most homosexuals are named as “roommates“, when they are living together and need to be mentioned. Well, unless someone have a mental breakdown, then it is more than okay to mentioned their sexuality.

It is not legal for singers to sing songs that mention homosexuality in the country either (So I guess that Uh Huh Her is not going to perform in Singapore anytime soon?).

OMG I have played songs performed by homosexuals while driving my car. So did that make me a criminal when I sang along?

Yes, Yes I sing while I am driving. Sometimes even rather loudly.

And well, as a woman, then the shape of my breasts already count more than my master degree does to some people, so I will not let anyone also dictate how out I can be at work, or in life, when it comes to my sexuality.

If that makes me an angry lesbian, then I guess that I am. I just don’t see myself as angry.

 

3 thoughts on “Have I turned into the stereotypical angry lesbian?

  1. wow, i never knew you have THAT image of Singapore! My ex (sigh) and I went there last month to watch Sara B and well, we thought Singapore was pretty much like a country with an open-mind esp for lgbtq. Then again, it’s probably because my ex is still in the closet here but abroad, she acts like she’s not. HAHA.

    • Compared to for example Malaysia and Indonesia, then Singapore is more open minded, but if you compare to Europe, US, Australia or even Taiwan, Singapore is more conservative in its public view of homosexuality.

      Where the majority of western countries now embrace homosexuality as a positive diversity, then the Singaporean government sees the LGBTQ movement as a challenge and more as a threat that is difficult to control and govern. Something that both Muslim and Christian leaders in Singapore have agreed on in the last years, especially recently when Pinkdot (it’s a toned down gay pride event) attracted more than 26,000 people in June this year.

      Singapore as a society is VERY conservative in its views. For example an old boss once told me that Homosexuality is an western invention that will never be accepted by Chinese and Asians, and the country should be cleaned of these “types”. He is now working on a senior level within the ruling party in Singapore and is directly involved with social policy makings. Most of the Singaporean side of my family have the same view – more or less, and that is even when I am not the only gay among my cousins. So…

      The good thing is that the young generation, especially those below 30’s are more open minded, but it can unfortunately take many years before there are enough in power to change the views of the whole country and Singapore is very much a top down ruled country. So the voice of the people is what the government and those who run it say what it is.

      Hardly anyone who visit Singapore will experience this, and even a lot of expats who only have lived in the country for a few years hardly experience anything negative, because both as expats and tourists tend to only see the shiny houses and the clean streets and not the dirt in the corners of the country.

      The gay scene is not fantastic, but “okay”, and a lot from the neighboring countries do come to let loose and do things that they are not able to do at home. For example, recently two 20 something girls who shared a hotel room in Malaysia were arrested after the police kicked in the door to their hotel room and found a vibrator that still were unopened, and only for being in the same room with a vibrator were they charged under some homosexual law that I can’t recall the name of. Something like that would not happen in Singapore to tourists, as the country could risk losing money and money is more important than people and human rights in Singapore.

      Or when a Senior minister were asked about homosexuality in Singapore, then his answer were “Singapore is not ready for this!” and the conversation got shut down.

      So, I feel that Singapore still have a long way to go when it comes to LGBTQ rights and liberties and unfortunately it is not getting better, but slightly worse over the last year.

      Ups sorry for the long reply!

  2. haha. thanks for the lecture. you touched really good points there and i could sense how passionate you are over the topic. So don’t worry about the angry lesbian moniker. ;)

Leave a Reply

